Day in the Life of Bethany Stephens, P.B. Bell’s Benefits and Payroll Administrator

What does a typical day look like for you?
My typical day involves a lot of computer work; emails, UKG, benefit sites, etc. What falls into that day depends on if it’s a payroll week, employee changes, new hires, terms, or what time of the month or the year it is regarding benefit enrollments, compliance items, billings, etc. Tracking and organizing the various areas of payroll, in addition to managing the ongoing and moving parts of benefits, are the key responsibilities in my role. Making it as seamless as possible for all employees is my goal.

How long have you been working at P.B. Bell?I’ve been working at P.B. Bell for just over 2 years; however, I’ve been working in human resources and payroll for nearly 10 years.

What is your favorite memory from working at P.B. Bell?
My favorite memory while working at P.B. Bell would be winning the pumpkin decorating contest this last Halloween. I created ‘Crumbl’ cookie pumpkins, which stumped multiple people into believing they were real desserts. It was a very fun contest, and I am extremely grateful for everyone’s compliments. I had a lot of fun creating them.

What do you enjoy most about your role?
One of the things I enjoy most about my role is being able to serve every employee in the company. Everyone works hard to earn a living and support themselves and their families and I support their positive workplace by ensuring they’ll receive a paycheck every two weeks as well as their benefits. I strive to create a process that results in everyone being paid on time for the accurate amount for which they’ve earned.

What is one fun fact about you?
Since my husband and I have been together, we’ve traveled to and explored at least one new destination or place each year. It may be a new country or somewhere not yet explored near our home. We made a promise our first year of dating to explore and visit a new place every year. Who knew 15 years later we’d still be keeping true to our promise. A few of my favorite places we’ve traveled to include Australia; Banff, Canada; Grand Caymans, Disney World, and Yosemite.

What is your favorite thing to do in Arizona?
One of my favorite things to do in Arizona is ride horses. I love going out on the trails and seeing the desert by horseback with friends and family. My daughter and I also barrel race competitively. I have loved horses all my life but did not get involved with them until we moved to Arizona. I started training about 2.5 years ago and we bought our first horse about 1.5 years ago. He is a beautiful 16H gelding Paint Quarter Horse and in our first season of competing we won our first buckle.

What is your favorite restaurant to eat at in the area?

I am simple when it comes to where to eat. I enjoy a variety of different kinds of food, but one restaurant I enjoy in the area is Osaka. I love the environment of the Hibachi tables, and the food is always delicious!

What is your favorite thing to do outside of work?
My favorite thing to do outside of work is spend time with my incredible husband and amazing daughter. We live a busy life full of different adventures and whether we are buzzing the desert, taking the horses out, seeing new places, running errands around town, or hanging out at home; I love being with them, having fun and making memories.

What kind of community/volunteer activities do you take part in?
My family is a member of the P&M Arena and the AZTrailriding team.

What is your life motto and words to live by?
My life motto is trust in God, give grace, have a grateful heart, help as much as I can, love others, be present and stand up for what I believe.